I have opinions. Like it or not.

Burning Question

I know this girl from my engineering college days who got married immediately after her engineering, moved to the US, promptly got pregnant last year and just had a baby. That’s fine, her choice, her life. I am not questioning any of her decisions.

My real question is, why on earth do you think putting up pictures of you in the labor ward, having JUST given birth to the baby is something the rest of us would enjoy?! I, for one, am repulsed by the very thought. And of course there is absolutely NOTHING tasteful about the picture. It is vivid in its gory details. No, there isn’t a screaming naked woman, but there IS what appears to be either a doctor or a nurse, covered in blood. Did she expect that we would all be so consumed in looking at the baby (you all know my opinion of new borns) that we wouldn’t notice anything else in the picture? Does she think it is a pretty sight?

No, I do not think it is pretty. In fact, I am completely grossed out by it. I now have no desire to see either her or her baby. Ever. So please, my dear friends, if you are planning on doing this again, which I have a sneaking suspicion that many people I have the misfortune of knowing will definitely do, pause to think before putting up something like this in the future. It is my humble request on behalf of humanity. Do not put us through this horrifying experience again.

Comments on: "Burning Question" (5)

  1. if and when i ever have a baby, i will personally kill the person who gets a cam into the room.
    and dude… ppl even mail VIDEOS of their delivery!!! mercifully, they subject it thus and i delete them promptly.
    i have actually told one person i knew that NOBODY would be interested in seeing her deliver a baby, not even her mom!
    talk of lack of concern for humanity! such ppl put ppl like me OFF the entire concept of having babies!

  2. Did she actually send you the pics or was it her hubby? You would know how people are excited about their great achievement (about delivering their baby) that they forget other person’s sensitivities. I find such people funny!! Are you thinking about let them know your feelings on this?

  3. @Rayshma: I agree. Of course, this wasn’t sent to me – I just saw an update on my Orkut saying she’s put up photos in an album. I went in with the only intention of congratulating her and I ended up getting the most rude shock of my life!
    @Lavs: She did not send me the photos, I saw them on Orkut. I am not planning on telling her because everyone else seems to be encouraging her and I frankly don’t care enough to go to any great lengths to teach her how to be cultured and courteous.

  4. I wrote the exact same thing on one of my earlier posts..Why oh why do they subject us to such horrors -enough to put one off pregnancy..
    I saw one where the mother was still zonked out after the labour pains and some idiot took her picture.
    Wait,am digging out that old post
    http://lostonthestreet.wordpress.com/2008/11/05/if-a-picture-is-worth-a-thousand-words/

    And oh good to see you blogging now.

  5. @LOTS: it’s good to be back! and oh yeah, i totally forgot you had blogged about this.. if i had known, i would have totally linked you!

Leave a Reply

