I have opinions. Like it or not.

Welcome 2008

Happy New Year, everyone!

Another year down and I have learned a lot more than I had last year. I seem to be getting wiser (if I may say so myself). It’s been a whole year and a half since I left home to begin a life of my own. I didn’t like it at first, but I began to enjoy my own company after a while. I made new friends, dealt with pressures at school and at work. I explored my love for research. I grew from being indifferent to disliking to feeling pure loathing for my adviser. I discovered that I love research so much that I’m willing to dedicate many more years of my life to it.

I met people whose company I enjoyed immensely; I had never thought I could like being amongst people so much. I realized that I am much more of an anti-anti-social than I ever thought I was. I discovered that loneliness is one of my worst fears and is one of the few feelings that can make me cry like a baby. I found that people care for me a lot more than I think they do. I understood what love really meant, that living away from your family can only increase it exponentially.

I also realized that I am completely insane. Hopefully in a cute sort of way. Someone called me “mental”. How right they were!

Goodbye 2007. I see 2008 as a much more promising year than the last because a lot of decisions will be made this year. Life changing, you may call them. Wish me luck!

Comments on: "Welcome 2008" (7)

  1. good luck 🙂 … with apping, with everything!

  2. I love end of the year posts. Esp mental ones.

  3. wish u all the luck u need, nay want! 🙂

  4. Stumbled upon you blog through Kathak’s. I liked the template of your blog too much, very lively. 🙂

  5. All the best babe! 🙂

  6. hello hello? life check…all well?

  7. Galadriel said:

    @Rahul: Thanks Rahul!
    @SEV: I love you too.
    @rayshma:Thanks babe, wish you the same!Btw, I am alive. Just trying to overcome an all-pervading lethargy that happens when you’re on vacation.. 😛
    @Lively:Welcome,welcome! Thanks a lot for the compliment, they’re hard to come by these days. Case in point:comment by SEV. 🙂
    @Pixie: Danke!

Leave a Reply

