I have opinions. Like it or not.

Is it just me?

Am I asking for too much if I expect people to be the way I am? Not to say that I am the God of everything, but there are some things that I make sure I do, and I religiously live by them. Unfortunately, people don’t seem to think it’s worth reciprocating. I cannot elaborate here, because I vowed not to make this blog personal and a lot of the people involved follow this blog. I do not mean to offend anybody, I am just reflecting and this blog is my vent to let off some steam.

I have learned that accepting “the gray” is a big part of the great learning process called life. Everything is not good or bad. There are people. And people are selfish. No matter how nice they seem, no matter how polite. They care for no one else but themselves. In many ways that is right too. But being self involved to the point where you believe anything outside your own skin is non-existent, is a little too much, what say? Alright, not to be labeled a hypocrite later on, I know I am not the most selfless person in the world. However, I believe I do have a basic level of whatchamacallit. There certainly are some situations where I do care for others. And yet, when others are in the same situation, they do not even stop to think about me. So then my actions seem futile don’t they?

Unfortunately, there are people who seem to accept these discrepancies in others and have the amazing ability to continue being the wonderful people they are. Such people do make you forget that the world is ugly and everything in it isn’t really what it seems. Such people make you smile so.

Comments on: "Is it just me?" (7)

  1. One thing is for sure… you gotta let others be who they are… And once you are comfortable in your own shell, you stop bothering to change people…

  2. You be what you are, do what pleases you… but try to avoid expectations… It may not be possible always, but it works for sure!

    Btw, I liked this blog template, sober in looks & pleasant to read!

  3. since i’m so much older to u… lemme jhaado some gyaan…
    one of d most imp things i’ve learnt from life is to be urself and not expect others to be anything but themselves. sometimes, just bcoz someone doesn’t live upto our expectations doesn’t mean they’re not doing the best they can.

  4. @BaL:True, but sometimes, it just gets to you.
    @Prashant:Yeah, expectations are the cause of many-a-problem. Thanks for visiting!
    @rayshma:hehe,i don’t think you’re all that much older..but wiser for sure.:D
    as for people, i know they can do better, why not just do it?

  5. What now? Didn’t I read your SOP?

  6. Perhaps you’re trying too hard? A little subtlety often goes a long way…

    I am a firm believer in impartial compassion… in other words, treat everyone the same, and treat them well, irrespective of how they treat you. I don’t always manage it but I do try. I have seen that in the long term, those people who only care about themselves do soften towards you if you act in that philosophy. It makes life a little easier. It’s not for everyone but it works for me.

    P.S. The Prashant above is a different person 🙂

  7. @Sailesh: Why do you think everything I write is about you?
    @Prashanth: I agree. I do the same things you have said, but sometimes, it gets to me you know. So I blog! 😀
    P.S: I know, you’re different as night and day. 😛

Leave a Reply

