I have opinions. Like it or not.

Desi Authors Galore..

Rayshma tagged me to enumerate some of my favorite Indian author books. I’m not such a regular fan, but here goes!

The God of Small Things (Arundhati Roy): My very first Indian author book (other than Ruskin Bond, if you consider him Indian) and I was extremely impressed. It’s one of those books that comes from the heart because many-a-times Roy recounts her own experiences and that makes for some quality writing.

Midnight’s Children (Salman Rushdie): By far my favorite Indian author, Rushdie’s writing is powerful, expressive and almost magical. Midnight’s Children is unfortunately the only SR book I’ve read. Note to self: Must read more! 🙂

The Inscrutable Americans (Anurag Mathur): How can one not like this insanely hilarious piece? Smart, funny, tongue-in-cheek.

Dollar Bahu (Sudha Murthy): I read a shoddy translation of the book, but I loved it for its simplicity.

These are all I can think of right now, but I have my sights set on a few others such as The Namesake, Black Friday, Kalki’s Alai Osai and Ponniyin Selvan among others.

I’d like to tag B, PS and Alice-in-Wonder. Please to take up this tag please. 😀

Comments on: "Desi Authors Galore.." (5)

  1. u’re really quick with tags, aren’t u? i thot i was d only one who loved them so! 😀
    namesake’s good…do get it! haven’t read dollar bahu.. guess i’m missing out on a lot of good indian reads here… 😦

  2. […] 4th, 2007 by alice-in-wonder I got tagged by Galadriel to list my favourite Books by Indian authors. Now, my disclaimer is that i really haven’t any […]

  3. Done. Go check it out.

  4. Galadriel said:

    @Rayshma: Yeah! They’re just an easy way out of having to write really thought provoking stuff (not that I do anyway :P)!!
    @Alice: I saw. I commented. I happy! 😀

  5. Interesting list. I still need to do the one you set me.

Leave a Reply

