I have opinions. Like it or not.

Am I…?

Shouldn’t I be happy that my friends are rapidly climbing the ladder of success? Am I jealous? No. I really am not. Then why am I feeling so lousy? Is it because I am disappointed at my own inability to achieve what they have? Partly.

But I think there’s a bigger reason for this. That I wasn’t given half the opportunities that others were given to prove their mettle. That if I were in their place, I probably would have done at least as much as them, if not more.

Or maybe I don’t deserve it. Maybe I’m just making excuses for my own incompetence. Maybe…

Comments on: "Am I…?" (5)

  1. Well.. its more the disappointment I would think, than anything else. The point is that every dog, eventually, has his/her day.

  2. Welllll……everyone goes thru’ the phase “if i were in their shoes, i’d do better ” ..but i think we all do get our chances also, why, yours might be just around the corner. So chin up, and don’t fool yourself into believing you are incompetent!

  3. That I wasn’t given half the opportunities that others were given to prove their mettle.

    Sure, and I would have been a billionnaire by now. I mean it is not like I had the opportunity to choose my brains and where I’d be born and …!

  4. Alright, alright… I’m being a wuss, I know! But still, if you guys had my adviser, and were promised a paper every semester for all the ass-whipping work that you’ve done, and you don’t get it, you’d probably feel just like me!
    Hell, life’s… like that!

  5. One paper per semester!!! Teen saal mein PhD karne ka iraada hai kya?

Leave a Reply

