I have opinions. Like it or not.

A year past…

It was my birthday last week. I turned 24. Really, it’s not so bad. I can say with a fair amount of certainty, that I am wiser than I was last year.

I have learned a lot in this past one year. About living without family, living all by myself. Living with roommates and pseudo-living with friends. I have made some amazing ones there. I have discovered things about myself that I never knew I was capable of. And that’s not necessarily a good thing either.

I have learned the importance of companionship. And how it is critical to be amongst people after your own heart. I have become less of a cynic (I frankly don’t see why they are proud of their cynicism). I have learned to open up. I have learned to be more independent. And less so too.

I have discovered how much people matter to me. And how much I matter to them. Or not. I have learned that being alone is not so bad. Sometimes. I have discovered that there’s a difference between people being there for you when you need them and people being friends.

I have learned that some friendships simply can’t be salvaged. And some will never reach a point where they need to be salvaged. And some can just never be. People are never good or bad. They’re only what you make them out to be.

I have learned how much I am like my Mom. Without ever knowing it. I’m glad.

But I don’t want to grow up. Not yet. Not just yet.

Comments on: "A year past…" (2)

  1. philosophyoflife said:

    An awakening of one’s observations – may you achieve your goal.

    A post worthy of praise.

  2. I dare say you should never complain if I introspect and ruminate on the things that have happened to me.

    Classy.

Leave a Reply

